mobile logo

FAQ

EDQ - General questions

Answer: Entraide diabétique du Québec is a non-profit organization, which has been collecting gently used clothing and household items since 1994. Profits generated by the sale of these items are donated to Diabetes Québec for its mission: supporting research into diabetes, improving services to diabetics and informing the public about diabetes.
Answer: The EDQ is a charitable organization duly registered with Revenue Canada. For a glimpse of our financial statements, you can go to this agency’s website. Simply click on the following link, which will take you to the search tool: http://www.cra-arc.gc.ca/chrts-gvng/lstngs/menu-fra.html
Answer: You can contact Diabetes Québec. This is its toll-free number: 1-800-361-3504.
Answer: You can call the INFO-SOIN DIABÈTE line at the following toll-free number: 1-800-361-3504 EXTENSION 233. Leave a message on its voice mail if the nurse responsible for dispensing information is unavailable, and your call will be returned as quickly as possible.
Answer: No. According to the regulations of Revenu Québec and Revenue Canada, we are unable to issue charitable receipts for used items. However, we can issue receipts for cash donations. These receipts are issued by Diabetes Québec.
Answer: These items are sold at Village des Valeurs.
Answer: Furniture requires considerable storage space. We prefer to allocate this space to clothing and small household items, in an effort to meet our objectives and fulfil our mission towards Diabetes Québec.
Answer: Everyone is getting rid of their old cathode ray televisions in favour of flat-screen TVs. Our organization is not in a position to store these old televisions, which are no longer wanted. Go to the following website for the nearest location where you can dispose of these units:  http://recyclermeselectroniques.ca/qc/quoi-faire/ou-recycler/
Answer: It’s a chain of retail stores that carries gently used clothes and household items. Each store is supported by a non-profit organization for the purchase of goods.
Answer: The EDQ considers that it is more profitable to raise funds by supplying the Village des Valeurs chain than to manage every aspect of a retail sales operation, with the high costs that this would entail.
Answer: No. We do not operate a retail sale outlet. We only sell the merchandise. Furthermore, Recyc-Québec data indicates that more than 70% of recyclable clothing still ends up in dumps and landfill sites. The problem is not that there are too many organizations collecting clothing, it’s that there are not enough!
Answer: The EDQ is a provincial organization. From our centres in St-Jérôme, Trois-Rivières and Quebec City, we cover a good part of the territory. The money raised is redistributed to Diabetes Québec as well as local diabetic associations.
Answer: The EDQ does not employ volunteers for telephone solicitation. However, volunteers are quite active within the Diabetes Québec association, which can rely on their support in a number of fields.

mobile logo

EDQ - Questions générales

Réponse : EDQ est un organisme de bienfaisance dûment enregistré à l’Agence de revenu du Canada. Vous pouvez obtenir un aperçu de nos états financiers via le site de cette agence en cliquant sur le lien suivant qui vous dirigera vers l’outil de recherche : http://www.cra-arc.gc.ca/chrts-gvng/lstngs/menu-fra.html
Réponse : Entraide diabétique du Québec est un organisme sans but lucratif qui effectue des collectes de vêtements et d’objets usagés depuis 1994. Les profits de la vente vont à Diabète Québec pour l’aider dans sa mission : soutenir la recherche sur le diabète, améliorer les services auprès des personnes diabétiques et informer la population à propos du diabète.
Réponse : 
Oui. Vous pouvez communiquer avec l’association Diabète Québec. Voici leur numéro de téléphone sans frais : 1-800-361-3504.
Réponse : Vous pouvez communiquer avec la ligne INFO-SOIN DIABÈTE. Voici leur numéro de téléphone sans frais : 1-800-361-3504 EXTENSION 233. Laissez un message sur le répondeur si l’infirmière chargée de communiquer l’information est absente et elle vous rappellera dans les plus brefs délais.
Réponse : Non. Nous ne pouvons pas émettre de reçus de charité pour des articles usagés selon les règles émises par Revenu Québec et l’Agence de revenu du Canada. Cependant nous pouvons émettre des reçus pour des dons en argent. Les reçus sont produits par l’association Diabète Québec.
Réponse : Les articles sont vendus au Village des Valeurs.
Réponse : Les meubles nécessitent beaucoup d’espace d’entreposage. Nous préférons allouer cet espace pour les vêtements et menus articles de maison afin d’atteindre nos objectifs et d’accomplir notre mission auprès de Diabète Québec.
Réponse : Tout le monde se débarrasse de leurs vieux téléviseurs à écrans cathodiques pour les remplacer par des écrans plats. Notre organisme n’est pas en mesure d’entreposer tous ces vieux téléviseurs qui ne trouvent plus preneurs. Visitez le site Internet Recyclez mes électroniques pour connaître le point de dépôt le plus près de chez-vous : http://recyclermeselectroniques.ca/qc/quoi-faire/ou-recycler/
Réponse : C’est une chaîne de magasins qui fournit des vêtements et articles usagés. Chaque magasin bénéficie du soutien d’un organisme sans but lucratif pour l’achat de marchandises.
Réponse : EDQ considère qu’il est plus rentable d’amasser des fonds en fournissant le Village des Valeurs que de gérer tous les aspects d’un magasin de vente au détail avec les coûts élevés que cela suppose.
Réponse : Non. Nous n’opérons pas un magasin de vente au détail. Nous vendons seulement de la marchandise. Par ailleurs, les données de l’organisme Recyc-Québec indiquent que plus de 70% des vêtements récupérables sont encore dirigés vers les dépotoirs et sites d’enfouissement. Il n’y a pas trop d’organismes qui font la cueillette de vêtements : il n’y en a pas assez!
Réponse : EDQ est un organisme provincial. Nos bureaux sont situés à St-Jérôme, Trois-Rivières et Québec, à partir desquels nous couvrons une bonne partie du territoire. Les fonds amassés sont redistribués vers Diabète Québec ainsi que vers les associations locales de diabétiques.
Réponse : EDQ n’emploie pas de bénévoles pour la sollicitation téléphonique mais les bénévoles sont toutefois très présents au sein de l’association Diabète Québec qui peut compter sur leur soutien dans de nombreux domaines.